More Positive Pregnancy Blogs are Needed

I am now 34 weeks pregnant and I am very grateful that I feel great.  I am still exercising numerous times a week and listening to my body.  If I ever feel tired or like I need a break then I take it.  I am not rigid with my work out schedule, but I do make an effort to stick with it because I know that it makes me feel more energetic for the day.

Every week I enjoy looking at pregnancy websites such as Baby Centre and Net Mums to discover how the baby will develop that week and changes that I can expect.  The information about how the baby is developing is always helpful but the list of things that I should be experiencing are just more negative by the week and thankfully I haven’t experienced any of them. 

The list of ailments and discomforts are ridiculous and I think that there should be more coverage of the fact that actually you might feel fine.  The majority of websites say that at 34 weeks you will have:

  • Heartburn
  • Backache
  • Constipation
  • Sleepless uncomfortable nights
  • Short of breath
  • Pelvic pain
  • Bloated
  • Sciatica (trapped nerves)
  • Numbness in your pelvis
  • Develop haemorrhoids (Piles)

The above list is enough to scare anyone and I think that too much emphasis is placed on these things.  Women will almost be waiting for these symptoms to occur as they have become the expected norm.  Whilst every pregnancy is different and it is inevitable that you will feel the extra weight that you are carrying, I believe that a positive attitude and exercise really helps. 

 

 

Start each day believing that you will feel good and have a good day.  Do your best to make healthy food choices and get some exercise at least 3 days per week. 

Leave a Reply

