Surprizes that I have Found During Pregnancy

At 30 weeks pregnant I have had quite a few surprises along the way.  I naively believed that if I continued healthy eating and exercising, as I have done for the past 10 years, that I would not need to gain any more than 10-15lbs throughout the duration of my pregnancy.  I also thought that I would only gain weight around my breasts and stomach. 

 

I have since learned that your body has a weight gaining plan that it will stick to regardless of whether or not you are happy with it!  I have always followed a healthy balanced diet with lots of fruit and veg, so my complete aversion to anything healthy in the first trimester took me by complete surprise.  During the second trimester I experienced hunger that I did not know was possible, and found that I rarely made it through the night without having to make a midnight snack which consisted of carbs, carbs and more carbs.   It really has been a learning curve. 

Whilst I am aware that weight gain is necessary and important for the growth of my baby, and breast-feeding afterwards, it doesn’t make it any easier to see the scales go up on their own accord.

The last time I weighed myself was at 6 months pregnant and I was still within the governmental recommended weight gain , but I have decided not to weigh myself again and just continue to eat healthily and exercise.  I am now 7 and a half months pregnant and this seems to be working just fine.

I do not have a set weekly routine for exercise but I do aim to be active no less than 4 days per week.  My activities include the following:

  • Yoga
  • Pilates
  • Exercise bike
  • Cross- trainer
  • 3 mile outdoor power walks
  • Treadmill
  • Rowing machine
  • Stepping machine
  • Resistance training with medium weights

Being pregnant has made me much more adventurous with the cardio machines in the gym.  Usually the majority of my cardio work would be done in Spinning classes.  Whilst some women continue with Spinning, I have chosen to stop until my baby is born because I find it far too demanding and I have no control over my heart rate.  I always aim to keep my heart rate in the region on 140BPM as my Midwife advised.

Pregnancy is an exciting time and not one that should be over shadowed by giving too much thought to weight gain. Our bodies let us know that our needs no longer take priority, the babies do.  The baby will take what it needs and leave us the remainder.  The most important thing to do is enjoy and appreciate this time, make healthy food choices wherever possible, and aim to get some exercise each week. 

Leave a Reply

