Just Can’t Get Enough….Spinach!

Lately I have been in love with spinach! Strange I know, but none of my dinners have felt complete before I added some spinach to the plate; so I decided to look a bit further into the health benefits.  The fact that I have been craving spinach could mean that my body is deficient in something.

Spinach is a very nutrient dense food, it is low in calories yet very high in vitamins and minerals.  It has been proven that leafy greens like spinach provide more nutrients than any other food, when compared calorie for calorie.

Spinach is an excellent source of the following:

  • vitamin K
  • vitamin A
  • magnesium
  • folate
  • manganese
  • iron
  • calcium
  • vitamin C
  • vitamin B2
  • potassium,
  • vitamin B6

It’s also a good source of protein, phosphorus, vitamin E, zinc, dietary fiber, and copper. Plus it provides selenium, niacin, and omega-3 fatty acids. Spinach is a heart healthy food and contains a high amount of vitamin A and C which are both anti-oxidants that help to reduce the amount of free radicals in the body. No wonder Pop-Eye was always popping those cans.

It should be noted that many women and growing children do not get enough of the iron mineral. This is something that can be easily improved by including more spinach in your diet.

Having researched the benefits of eating spinach, I can see that it is a good habit to have adopted, not sure how long I will like it for but as spinach is readily available and inexpensive I am happy to go along with it for now.

 

Leave a Reply

